day 132 – “and god said-“

“Let there be light”.

And finally,

A sunny day hit Western Australia.

Despite all the shitty weather (and I mean literally, rain daily without fail) I’ve managed to have nothing but a great first 2 weeks. Although, with good weather comes icky, crawly spiders on the deck umbrella. (And let’s be honest, the chance that I go 6 months without one falling on my head are none to none because like I can feel it about to happen).

The girls (Portia – 3, and Charlie – 18 months) have been at daycare since 9 this morning, and I have the rest of the day off since the parents (Jen – young and fit, and Dan – hot, young, and fit) don’t train on Tuesday nights. So I can enjoy this bought of sunshine worry free and minus a screaming 1 1/2 year old. (Praise).

Now that I’m finally working into a quite regular schedule, I’m starting to feel complete and…home. I start in the mornings with the breakfast routine. Jen is almost always out the door before I wake, but I take over for Dan at either 6:45 or 7:30 depending on when he’s doing Cross-Fit (which is like never because they’re obsessed with it). (But like in a weirdly endearing way).

(A lot of hip exercise terminology is thrown around).

(I never understand it).

Jen usually gets home from training her clients at 8:30 or just before, and the girl’s are at daycare Tuesdays and Thursdays by 9. From then on I’m a free bird. Although I usually stick around for a little; unload the dishwasher, maybe set up a craft or two for the next day. Mondays and Wednesdays I work most of the day. Monday is usually swimming day. Jen and I pack up the kiddies and head to the local pool for a splash around and some crying. Then I play nanny while she locks herself in front room to do paperwork. Wednesdays she takes them to music at the University of Western Australia (from now on I’ll refer to that as UWA).

(Learn it, know it, live it).

While there gone I do my weekly “heavy clean”. Technically this isn’t something I HAVE to do, but it’s a good way to make 50bucks and pretend the mop is a microphone without anyone around to shame me. Sometimes I’ll help while she does work afterwards, sometimes I have time to hole up in my room for a little ~me time~.

(So like blogging and netflix and selfies).

Mondays and Wednesdays I help with dinner, feed the girls at 5:30 (roughly though like really it could be anytime between 4:30 and 6), give them a bath and get them all set and ready for bed. Jen and Dan run and training until 6:45 on those nights. When they get home they have the girls in bed by 7:00 and that’s me done! I’ll then either stick around for dinner with the couple or frolic off to Mount Lawley with friends. Fridays I work mornings and nap time and am usually scott free for the weekend by 2:00 that afternoon.

(Saturday babysitting is always optional and a money-maker).

(I like making money).

Really the job is easy, the hours are relaxed, and no one is ever really far away. Best of all I’m really enjoying myself. Getting on great with the parents was what I was most worried about starting this, but has ended up being the easiest part. The girl’s are self entertaining machine’s and quit the crying when presented with their cuddles.

So really I’m living quite the life. Kick with friend’s like the groovy cat I am on the weekends and lunch at UWA on Thursday. I’ve also gotten myself a bus pass to whip out and swipe like the local I’m becoming. Speaking of the bus, there are like 6 stops a block or two (okay or 4 but that’s only like 2 of them) from the house. But I don’t always use the bus beca~use….

*drum roll*

I have now mastered the art of driving on the wrong side of the road. Okay, whatever, the right side of the road…but by that I mean the left side.

(Which is wrong).

(But I guess also right).

I wouldn’t say I miss home really. It’s more like I miss little things from home; mom-hugs and falling asleep on the couch and not doing anything all day.

One the schedule for this week:
Beer Garden for someone’s 19th – Wednesday night
Coffee date – Thursday ‘noon
Dinner at my old host families house (from my high school exchange!!) – Thursday night
Probably something – Friday
Perth Yacht Club charity high tea – Saturday avo

 

Leave a comment